Hello from Strongsville, Ohio!

I’m baaaack …. and I’m excited to be blogging again.  Let’s start by catching up on a few things.

My job

You may remember that I went back to work full-time last August.  My job has truly been a blessing for me and my family.  The company I work for is a wonderful, strong Fortune 300 company.  The work environment is friendly and collaborative.  In a word, I’d say “encouraging”.  My teammates are some of the smartest and hardest working people I’ve had the pleasure to work with, and they like to have fun at too!  The frosting on the cake is I work for a terrific boss that knows our business well and has put a lot of faith and trust in me.  They say you “can’t teach an old dog new tricks”, but under his leadership I’ve learned a lot about working with people, our company, and about business continuity.  And in the short 10 months since I came on board, our team (my boss and I) have assumed the additional responsibility for physical security and emergency response and safety.  Lots of opportunity, and I’m loving it!

For the past several months, I’ve saved up enough vacation time so that I’m now able to work in a few contract teaching assignments a year.  This weekend for example, I’m in Strongsville, Ohio which is a suburb just outside of Cleveland.  I’m joined this weekend by my good friend “Wilson”.  We’ve taught together in the past (you can go back and read some of my previous blogs from Reno, Nevada and Salt Lake City, UT).  Wilson is a dynamic instructor we all want to learn from.  He’s smart and knows his information and delivers it in a fun and engaging way.  And personally for me, he’s become a great friend.

Lima Company Memorial

Yesterday, we had the pleasure (honor) to come across the “Lima Company Memorial” .  Just by accident the truck that carries the exhibit was in our hotel parking lot getting ready to leave for their event sight.  They were joined by several members of the “Rolling Thunder” motorcycle group as well as the Strongsville Fire Department and Police Department.  The exhibit “Eyes of Freedom” is a memorial to 22 marines and one Navy corpsman from Lima Company, 3rd Battalion, 25th Regiment who died serving their country while deployed in Iraq.  Most of the 22 were from Ohio.  The memorial includes several large panels painted by Anita Miller who herself is an Ohio artist.  The memorial travels the country telling the story of love and sacrifice, and serves as a reminder to all of us about the great price men and women are will to pay for this great country of ours.

Our class

So Wilson and I are here working with the Ohio Office of Emergency Management teaching FEMA’s CERT (http://www.fema.gov/community-emergency-response-teams ) Train-the-Trainer class.  We have a nice sized class of 30 students who come from diverse backgrounds including law enforcement, the fire service, emergency management, health, education, and community volunteers.  Like the other classes I’ve blogged about, this one is fast-paced and overflowing with information that will help our students become better instructors of the popular CERT curriculum within their communities.

Well, we are looking forward to Day Two.  We’ll be spending our day reviewing the basic CERT curriculum and the instructor skills necessary to deliver a class that students will enjoy and learn how to become part of the solution rather than part of the problem.

And tonight, we’ve got a field trip scheduled to catch a Cleveland Indians game.  It should be fun.

I hope you’ll come back tomorrow and read more about my trip to Strongsville and our CERT training.

In the meantime … stay safe and I’ll leave you with some pictures. I hope you enjoy them.

5 Responses to Hello from Strongsville, Ohio!

  1. krista says:

    Nice hearing from you!!

  2. Sue Lamb says:

    Tim, so nice to have you blogging again! Those lucky folks in OHIO have the best CERT TTT there is! I was so blessed to be in your class at EMI in May 2012. Keep up the good work and keep blogging.
    Regards,
    Sue Lamb / Yamhill County (OR) Emergency Mgt.

  3. Kamal Haddad says:

    Tim,
    A big THANK YOU for you and Wilson for the nice successful training you provided us in Strongsville, Ohio. Hope to see you again in another training session.
    Thank you

  4. Paula Phillips says:

    Great to hear that things are going so well for you!! Good luck and keep in touch!!!

  5. Mary Martincic says:

    You & Wilson did an excellent job with our training session. Hope to have you come back again for a different training event.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

