Short blog today from EMI

Thanks for joining me today.  If you are a first-time reader, Welcome.  I hope you will subscribe and read often.  If you are a regular reader, or have been following me this week, Welcome back.

This week I’ve been sharing with you my observations and experiences while teaching a Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) class at the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Emergency Management Institute (EMI) in Emmittsburg, MD.

To catch you up, here’s what I’ve written about so far:

  • The history of EMI and the campus
  • Registration and lodging on campus
  • The Learning Resource Center
  • The Chapel
  • The 9/11 Memorial
  • The National fallen Firefighters Memorial

Today, I want to spend time closing out the class I’m teaching as well as continue to share some of the other sites, and activities here on campus.

The class

Today we finished up with our Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) Train-the-Trainer class.  The delivery format of the class was different from what I’m used to doing and so as an Instructor, I felt I learned some new ways of doing things.  The instructors I’m working with are very sharp as are the students in the class.  It’s really been a joy for me.

We have a down day tomorrow, and then start our CERT Program Manager class on Friday.

The Dining Hall

"K" building where both the Dining Hall and my classroom are located

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When you first arrive on campus and register for your room, you must also buy a meal ticket that covers all meals (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) while you are here.  Meals are served buffet-style and it’s as much as you want.  You won’t mistake the quality of food served with a five-star gourmet restaurant, there is a decent variety to choose from and the quality is maybe a seven out of 10.

Recreation while on campus

Basketball inside the gymnasium

 

The pool area

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The National Emergency Training Center (NETC) Recreation Association operates the Command Post Pub in the “H” building.  The pub is a private club under Maryland liquor laws and membership ($1.00) in the Recreation Association is required for service.  On Wednesday nights, the Pub hosts Karaoke Night.

In addition to the Pub, the Recreation Association also manages the on-campus gym located in the “B” building.  Along with the gym, there is also a running track, exercise room, swimming pool, tennis, basketball courts, softball, volleyball, golf, fishing and bicycles.

Tomorrow, I’ll be writing about the benefits (WIIFM) of this training and I hope to walk to downtown Emmittsburg and share some sites with you.  Please come back.

TIP:  Here’s something new … take the poll that I’ve embedded in to this blog.

 

So, what do you think?

