Returning Home

They say all good things must come to an end and I guess that’s true with regards to my trip to Reno, NV this week.  Today was a travel day taking me from Reno, NV early this morning to Las Vegas, NV and then finally home to St. Louis. MO.

I’m very proud and appreciative for the opportunity that I had this week.  People often asked me what I like about the teaching I do.  In hind-sight, I think there are two elements of this past week that are great examples of what I love about teaching.

The students

Our students … and friends from this week

I really enjoyed meeting and getting to know the students that were in our class this week.  While the first day of a class is always a bit more reserved as compared to the remainder class time, eventually, we all became more comfortable and trusting of each other.  In the end, the people who were in class this week were terrific students.  They came to class each day with great energy.  They were genuinely interested and respectful of what we had to say.  And, if you’ve been reading my blog this week, you know that several students were very open and gracious to share with me information about their culture, which I found extremely fascinating and in turn shared with you.  Although I was the teacher, I feel I learned a lot from my students.

My co-instructor

I can’t say enough positive things about my co-instructor.  The only other time I had the pleasure of working with him was back in October 2011.  Back then, I quickly realized he was one of those special people who can very quickly warm-up to a classroom of students.  He is an excellent communicator that is very comfortable in front of an audience.  Once he has the students interest, he’s able to keep it.  I think his professional, yet caring, attitude and sense of humor plays a large role in being able to establish that connection.  In the end, I feel watching him work this week helped me to improve my own teaching skills.

Well, it’s been a long week this week.  I’m returning to a regular schedule and so, my next post will be on January 15, 2012.  I hope you will come back.

Until then, best wishes.

One Response to Returning Home

  1. knoblezunie says:

    Thank you to you and Wilson, it was a great week of learning all around! This was the pebble that will create a great ripple in Indian Country!! Elah:kwa!

So, what do you think?

