As Harry Carey used to say … “Holy Cow”!

Well, two days ago we finished teaching our CERT Program Manager class in North Carolina.  My original intent was to have this blog posted yesterday.  Unfortunately, the flight home from Raleigh took a tad bit longer than I had planned.

In the early afternoon of our final class day, as we were winding down our class, I received a message from Southwest Air that my 9:35 PM connecting flight out of Baltimore was delayed and wouldn’t leave until 12:40 AM.  What, a three-hour delay, seriously?  In the next seven hours they can’t fix the problem so travelers aren’t inconvenienced?  This can’t be happening from my favorite airline!  Well, it gets better yet.  Our flight from Raleigh to Baltimore was on time and fine.  Unfortunately, the weather turned bad in east and several flights were redirected to Baltimore and delayed as a result.  It was one of those times when the airport was so crowded; people were sitting or lying down wherever they could find space.  As it was, flights resumed later in the evening once the storms passed by and so my flight home finally left Baltimore at about 1:40 AM which in turn got me back home at 3:30 AM.  So with a full day of meetings and no sleep the next day, my attempts at writing my final North Carolina blog didn’t happen as planned.  My apologies.

As the saying goes, “a day late and a dollar short” I’m now getting around to writing my blog so that I’m able to close out this last trip/class by saying “thank you” to all the folks in North Carolina for your hospitality.  In Raleigh, we had the pleasure of working with terrific people from all over the state.  In class, our participants asked great questions that were on point for the discussion.  Their Pre-Test vs Post-Test scores showed significant knowledge gain.  And the ideas they shared with each other were outstanding.  I have no concern that the folks we had in our class will leverage the knowledge and techniques we shared with and in turn will develop long-sustaining CERT programs across the state.  And working with my good friend and co-instructor “Joe” is always a real treat for me.  He’s a terrific instructor and all around nice guy.

Looking ahead to the upcoming week, let me give you a “heads-up” notice that this coming week I’ll be in Acoma, New Mexico which is about an hour’s drive west from Albuquerque.  The purpose for the trip is to co-instruct a FEMA course titled “Continuity of Operations (COOP) for Tribal Governments”.  Needless to say, I’m extremely excited about this opportunity and can’t wait to get there.  I hope you’ll choose to come back on Tuesday July 31 and follow me on this wonderful adventure.  Until then, I’ll leave you with a few more picture from North Carolina, and say “be safe”.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, what do you think?

