Look at me – I’m in the “Land of Enchantment”

As I mentioned in my past blog, I’m on the road again this week and I’m in New Mexico, a state I have not visited before.  Specifically, I’m in Acoma, New Mexico and I’m here to co-instruct a FEMA course titled “Continuity of Operations for Tribal Governments”.  Our class is being hosted by the Pueblo of Acoma .  “Pueblo” is Spanish for “village” and refers to both the people and the unique architecture of the Southwest.  The word “Acoma” and related words which are equally correct and historically applicable- Akome, Acu, Acuo and Ako- denote “a place always prepared.”

Acoma Pueblo is a Native American pueblo approximately sixty miles west of Albuquerque, New Mexico in the United States. Three reservations make up Acoma Pueblo: Sky City (Old Acoma), Acomita, and McCartys.  We are in Sky City.

The Acoma Pueblo tribe is a federally recognized tribal entity.  The historical land of Acoma Pueblo totaled roughly 5 million acres; now only 10% of this land is in the hands of the community.  According the 2010 United States Census, 4,989 people identified as Acoma.  The Acoma have continuously occupied the area for over 800 years, making it one of the oldest continuously inhabited communities in the United States.

Our class will provide tribal representatives with an understanding of how to develop and implement a Continuity of Operations program to ensure continuity of “community essential functions” across a wide range of emergencies and events.  Topics that we will cover over the next two days will include legal basis for continuity, continuity planning, determining essential functions, vital records management, and pan flu implications for continuity operations.

To get here, I flew in to Albuquerque and then drove the quick 50-plus miles over to Acoma.  I found the drive a bit challenging only because of the beautiful scenery along the way.  I’m attaching some pictures to share with you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So tomorrow we’ll start our class.  I hope you will come back and read about how we are doing.  Until then, I’m hitting the Prime Rib buffet.  Hope it’s good.  See you tomorrow!

One Response to Look at me – I’m in the “Land of Enchantment”

  1. krista rowland says:

    I’m sure the pictures do the scenery no justice! Looks beautiful.

So, what do you think?

