Hey, I’ve started a new job!

Welcome to the first of several “special” blogs that I’ll be writing over the next two weeks.  Today’s blog specifically is more of a personal nature rather than one focused on my more traditional topics of business continuity, emergency management, or leadership.  My plan is to leave this blog up for the next week.  Then, beginning on August 20, I’ll be posting a few daily blogs about two classes I’ll be teaching in Rhode Island, which should be exciting.   I’ve never been to Rhode Island before, but there’s lots of history there, and I’m told the people are terrific!

Well, let me start out with a major announcement – drum roll please … last week I was very blessed as I resumed working in a full-time position (yeah!).  It’s been a terrific three years since I left my last full-time position and now it’s time to start another chapter of my life.

My new position is in the Insurance industry and is again in the field of business continuity.  Needless to say I’m very pleased and excited to have landed a job that I enjoy in a great company where as one person I met said “everyone here is so happy”.

For those that know me, I hope that I’ve demonstrated somewhere in our relationship that I am a man of faith.  As a Christian, I do believe in my God, and can attest to the fact that he has directed my life to where I am today.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t always a good follower but he’s been patient, and life continues to be great today.

As I look back over my life, I can clearly see that I have been very fortunate (blessed) both personally and professionally.  With very little skills to start with in the beginning, I ended up owning a 30-plus year career in the telecommunications field.  Along the way I met wonderful people who helped me grow and develop my interpersonal skills, as well as skills in the areas of customer service, leadership, business continuity, and emergency management.  After 30 years, I was well-positioned to take advantage of a great opportunity that was placed before me.  Unfortunately, it was during one of the worst economic times our great country had experienced, which makes my story even more amazing.

Lucky for me, my family supported (encouraged) me during the first twelve months of down time.  I enjoyed the opportunity to rest and really spend time with my family that first year.  It was also during this time that I joined the Eureka Fire Protection District Search and Rescue team.  Over the past two years I’ve participated in many searches and was honored to be part of the team when we were requested to help the citizens of Joplin, Missouri following the devastating tornado last year.  And now, my son is a member of the team too.  What a great father-son opportunity we have.  I also was elected to the President position on the Board of Directors of the MidAmerica Contingency Planning Forum (MCPF).  I was one of the founding members of the MCPF 15 years ago, and today I am proud to be part of the team that’s guiding the Forum to many new successes.

During the past two years, I have been very fortunate to have been able to establish a successful business where I have been able to follow my passion – teaching others how to be prepared.  During these past two years I have worked with outstanding Course Managers, “Paul” and “Katie”, at the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Emergency Management Institute (FEMA EMI) who have supported my ongoing teaching efforts.  And in addition to FEMA EMI, I’ve continued to teach courses for Missouri’s State Emergency Management Agency (MO-SEMA).  I will always be appreciative to “Jim” for giving a corporate guy a chance to prove himself.  Along the way I’ve worked with the BEST instructors in the field and met terrific people who were our students.

During the past three years, I really only dabbled at a career search.  Partially, because I was trying to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up, and the other part because I was having way too much fun with my family and the business I was building.  But, at this stage of my life, and when I looked forward economically, I knew my family and I would best be served with a full-time position in a well-established company.  And I was blessed again!

If you have followed me for any length of time, you know that I am a proponent for social media.  And so, one day back in April, I found a position … my position … posted on LinkedIn.  To make a long story short, I applied, networked, participated in several interviews, and last week started my new position.  It took four months, but my job finally came to fruition.  Thank you!

As I start this new chapter in my life, I will work hard, and always strive to be the best I can be.  The company I now work for is a wonderful strong company, a true leader of the industry.  The management team REALLY takes good care of their employees and in turn benefits from employees who are happy, enthusiastic, creative, supportive, and hard-working.  My manager is a hard-working man who understands the business and our corporate culture.  He helped create the corporate vision of business continuity and I look forward to learning from him and working with him.  While I fully expect to be challenged as I come on board in the short-term, I see great opportunities long-term.  I’m very thankful I’m where I am.

It’s funny, but now as I come onboard in my new job, I can’t help but think of the folks I mentored from the U.S. Air Force as part of the “Education with Industry” (EWI) program.  I managed this program for my previous employer and it’s one where high performing individuals in the Air Force compete for 10-month sabbatical assignments in hosting corporations.  The underlying goal is to take back to the Air Force corporate “Best Practices” that will help improve Air Force operations.  I was privileged to have mentored many great EWI participants over the course of several years.   From Day One, they all came in each day eager to learn and willing to contribute.  They liked to explore, and as such they observed everything with new eyes.  They took lots of notes and asked lots of questions; often making us career guys realize we had gotten too far into the forest to see the trees.  With their new insight, we all became better.  Today, I too am excited.  I will explore, ask questions, learn, and grow.  In the end, I will strive to be a significant performer.

Looking ahead with my blog, while I won’t be writing specifically about my company, I will take my new experiences in business continuity, emergency management, and leadership and continue to share them with you.  I look forward with excitement to my new opportunities and experiences and I hope you will share in my excitement through my blog postings.  So, please plan to check back next week for what’s happening in Rhode Island.

Until then, best wishes and stay safe!

7 Responses to Hey, I’ve started a new job!

  1. krista rowland says:

    Congrats Tim!! Your new company landed a great one!

  2. That’s great, congratulations! Knock ’em dead! (Figuratively, of course…)

  3. Chanda Gravitt says:

    Wishing you the absolute best in your new endeavors, Tim. I know you’ll do an exceptional job for the new company! I feel blessed to have had you as an instructor at EMI before you made the change, your teaching rocks! Look forward to reading more about your upcoming adventures…warmest wishes and blessings to you and yours….

  4. Sue Lamb says:

    I am so very happy for you Tim! So well deserved. I am also feeling very fortunate that I was one of the lucky ones at EMI that had you as an instructor for my TTT. You were inspiring and engaging – I learned so much. Your new company is SO blessed to have chosen you. I wish you all the best. – One of the May ’12 Oregon group.

  5. Louis Burney Baggett says:

    Philippians 4:8-13

    Keep on helping others. Life is filled with crisises and new opportunities as well.

    BB

  6. Deane Adam says:

    Timmy!!!! Congrats! So happy for you.

  7. Lucy Railton says:

    Congratulations Tim. From all I’ve read and am starting to learn about you first hand, they are very lucking to have you.

So, what do you think?

