Hello from Nebraska!

I know what you are probably thinking …. what’s with this guy?  He hasn’t blogged in months and all of a sudden he’s jumped back into it, blogging three times in the past two weeks.  And you are probably wondering (maybe hoping?), is there more?  Oh ya.

Well, I just landed in Omaha, Nebraska from St. Louis and I’m on my way over to Lincoln.  Hmmm, that almost sounds like the beginning of a math story problem.  Anyway, I’m in Lincoln this week to teach two CERT classes for the State of Nebraska Emergency Management Agency and Citizen Corps.

The flight over this morning was wonderful … thank you Southwest.  Departure weather was clear and sunny.  We had an on time departure, and while the plane was almost full, the two seats next to me remained empty.  It was like flying first class – ya gotta love it.  Not sure why people don’t like sitting next to me.  Maybe it’s got something to do with me grabbing the “puke bag” as soon as I sit down on the aisle seat and acting like I’m going to vomit?  Nah, what are the chances?  Coming into Omaha, the ride got pretty bumpy due to a local storm that was moving through. But, the flight crew handled things well.  All wheels up and all wheels down.

Once I arrived in Omaha, I found my way over to the rental car counter, and the representative upgraded me from a compact car to a Lincoln MXZ.  Let’s see, no one sitting next to me on the flight and now an upgrade.  Hey, this trip is going well so far.  And by the way, I rented this car through COSTCO (www.COSTCO.com ) on their travel site.  Wow, what a savings compared to booking it myself.  If you don’t have a COSTCO membership and you travel, get a membership and use it for the travel discounts.  It will payback, very quickly.

On the drive from Omaha to Lincoln I made two stops.  My first stop was at a local “Kum & Go”.  I first ran across these gas and convenience stores in Springfield, MO.  My second stop was at the Melia West Visitor Center at the Melia West rest stop along the Blue Star Memorial Highway, I-80 in the Great Platte Valley.  I’m including a few pictures that provide a little narrative of this area which goes back to the prehistoric Indians who were in this area.

Well, tomorrow we start our first class which will be CERT Train-the-Trainer.  Although I’ve blogged about similar classes in the past, each class is differant and I’ll look forward to bringing you stories from our classes this week.  I’m looking forward to making some new friends while we are here and helping them discover how they can become the instructor they want to be.  I hope you will come back tomorrow.

And here’s the pics ….

Let's get going

Let’s get going

All this space, wow!  Just like in first class.

All this space, wow! Just like in first class.

Fields are still flooded in St. Charles county in Miissouri

Fields are still flooded in St. Charles county in Miissouri

Nuf said

Nuf said

I-80 is part of the Blue Star Highway

I-80 is part of the Blue Star Highway

Stop to check things out at the Visitor Center

Stop to check things out at the Visitor Center

History of Melia

History of Melia

Page 1 of the Great platte Valley story

Page 1 of the Great platte Valley story

Page 2

Page 2

and Page 3.

and Page 3.

So, what do you think?

