Good bye Lincoln Nebraska

Well it’s hard to believe that our week in Lincoln has come to an end so fast, but here it is.  Today we completed our CERT Program Manager class and now I’m heading for home.

During our short five day stay here we have met some terrific, dedicated and committed people from around the “Corn Husker” state.  I’m convinced that with the training they have completed this week, they have the knowledge and skills (ability) to significantly improve the overall readiness (preparedness) of the communities they live in.  And since most of the folks we worked with this week completed both the CERT Train-the-Trainer and the CERT Program Manager class, I would hope that as they roll out their CERT programs (either new or improved), they will look to become self-sustaining rather than be dependent upon federal funding.  As I wrote in a previous blog, I don’t feel as though the federal funding that many programs across the country receive was intended to be sustaining funds.  Rather, they should have simply been used for one-time program development.  Then, once the program is developed, up and running, it should be the local program’s, or community’s, responsibility to find ways to provide their ongoing funding (self-sustainment).

As I shared with both classes this week, CERT is another program, like the old FEMA “Project Impact” from the 1990’s, where communities became too reliant on federal funding to help improve the resiliency of the community and didn’t seek out opportunities to be self-sustaining.  In the long run, Project Impact went away as federal funding went away.  I hope that CERT doesn’t suffer the same demise, but with the constant decline in federal money allocated for CERT, I think the future doesn’t look good.  With that said, all bets are off when the next big disaster occurs, especially if it is a homeland security incident.  Only then will we see the federal funding spigot turned back on.

Thank you Annette

One of students in our classes this week was a lady by the name of Annette who calls Lincoln, Nebraska home but also lives part time in Florida.  Annette has a military background and now enjoys giving back to her community – both in Lincoln and in Florida.  It was a pleasure to have Annette in class this week not only because she’s a nice person, but because she actually added a lot to our classroom discussions.

Today, she gave me a copy of a book titled “Blindsided – A Manager’s Guide to Catastrophic Incident’s in the WORKPLACE” by Bruce T. Blythe.  I am looking forward to reading this book and applying it to both the classes I teach as well as with the administration of my business continuity and emergency response and safety practices at my REAL job.

Thanks Annette! 

My fellow instructors

Working with me this week was Joe Sciandra and Alan Scott.  I’ve worked with both gentlemen before and have enjoyed working with them again this week.  Sharing their experience and perspective in class the way they did really made the class much more enjoyable for our students.

Well, it’s time to board the flight home.  While I’ve loved being back out teaching with my good friend Wilson Lee in Cleveland two weeks ago, and with Joe and Alan this past week, I’m really looking forward to getting back home and back to my real job.  There’s a lot waiting for me when I get back, which translates into lots of opportunity for success.

I hope that you’ve found my blogs over the past couple of weeks interesting … and maybe even enjoyable?  I hope to return to my former regular schedule which will be on the 1st and 15th of each month.  If there’s something you’d like me to write about, feel free to make a suggestion by using the Comment link.

So until July 15th … stay safe and be prepared.

So, what do you think?

